Global menu

Our global pages


Dutch offshore wind project capacity doubled

  • Netherlands
  • Energy and infrastructure - Clean energy


The Dutch Government announced on 18 March 2022 the designation of three new areas for offshore wind farms, and confirms two previously designated areas. The three new wind energy areas are named Nederwiek, Lagelander, Doordewind. The other two reconfirmed areas are the northern part of IJmuiden Ver and the southern part of Hollandse Kust (West).

With these five areas, together representing 10.7 GW of wind energy, the total planned capacity for offshore wind energy in the Netherlands will be doubled to approximately 21 GW by 2030. The areas are located to the North and North-West of the country. The Government will decide this summer where exactly the projects will be located within the designated areas in the Roadmap 2030+.

It is suggested by the government to use the Climate Fund to pay for part of the costs involved (an amount of around €1.69 billion). These costs will be part of the structuring of the agenda of the Climate Fund, for which the agenda will be sent to parliament before the summer. It is suggested that the Climate Fund will cover costs related to shipping safety, making the fishing industry more sustainable, adapting, strengthening and protecting the North Sea ecosystem, and the spatial integration of the power connection on land.

“These new wind farms are showing further clean energy ambition and provide excellent opportunities for the market to develop and invest in Dutch offshore wind projects. We are more than happy to talk you through this development. Having worked on over 70GW of renewable energy projects globally, our team has the depth of resource and experience to deliver top quality support in project development, finance and investment.” Miriam van Ee, Energy Partner in the Netherlands

With the new and confirmed areas, the Dutch offshore wind areas are:

  • Egmond aan Zee
  • Prinses Amaliawindpark
  • Luchterduinen
  • Gemini Windpark
  • Borssele I, II, III, IV & V
  • Hollandse Kust (Zuid) I, II, III & IV
  • Hollandse Kust (Noord) V
  • Hollandse Kust (West) VI & VII
  • Ten Noorden van de Waddeneilanden I
  • IJmuiden Ver I, II, III, IV
  • Nederwiek
  • Lagelander
  • Doordewind