Global menu

Our global pages


HIQA launch standards on safe maternity care

  • Ireland
  • General


HIQA’s National Standards for Safer Better Maternity Services, were launched by the Minister for Health, Simon Harris in December 2016. The National Standards describe what safe, high-quality maternity services should be like.

The National Standards for Safer Better Maternity Services cover prepregnancy, pregnancy, labour, birth and the postnatal period (up to six weeks after birth), and apply to all maternity services. These services include, but are not limited to, maternity units, and primary and community care settings.

Minister Harris commented:

“These standards along with the range of patient safety initiatives taking place in my Department will support better, safer clinical decisionmaking and a more connected health service, delivering better outcomes for patients.”

Following several high-profile failings in the delivery of safe, high-quality care in maternity services, HIQA committed to the development of specific standards for maternity services in order to drive improvements in both quality and safety. These standards were designed to support the implementation of the National Maternity Strategy, which was published in January 2016.

This information is for guidance purposes only and should not be regarded as a substitute for taking legal advice. Please refer to the full terms and conditions on our website.

< Go back